Website Manager

American Youth Soccer Organization Providing world class youth soccer programs that enrich children's lives.

AYSO Region 143

Misunderstood Calls

Top Misunderstood Referee Calls
 
Hand Balls
There is no such thing as a hand ball. The foul is called Deliberate Handling. A) was it deliberate, B) did the players hand hit the ball (foul) or did the ball hit the hand, C) did the player try to avoid it, D) players distance from where it was kicked, E) did the player make them self bigger, stretching their arms out, raising their hands etc., not in a natural position.
 
Offside Calls
Offside, not offsides. One tends to watch a player kick the ball, then look to see if the player receiving it, is offside. The player must be in the offside position when the ball is played or touched by his teammate.  If it is played by an opponent, there is NO OFFSIDE.  If it is played or touched by a teammate and deflects off an opponent, and was never possessed or controlled by that opponent, it is offside. If the offside player comes onside to retrieve the ball after it is played or touched by a teammate, it is OFFSIDE, even if he returns to his own half of the field to retrieve it. He was in an OFFSIDE position when the ball was kicked. The IDFK takes place from where the offense ocurred.
 
Out of Play (Out of Bounds)
The ball is only out of bounds when it " wholly" crosses a  touch line or goal line. Even if a ¼” of the ball has not passed the plane, (wholly over the outside plane/edge of the line), on the ground or in the air, the ball is still in play. You should "see grass or dirt" between the ball and the white touchlines edge. Where the bottom of the ball touches does not matter. The ball is out of bounds from the person it touched last, not the last person to kick it. The throw in goes to the opposing team. 
 
Illegal Throw-Ins
Throw-ins must be performed properly whether they go in play or not. If the throw in is performed properly but does NOT go in play, then it is a retake. If the throw-in is not performed properly, whether or not it goes in play, the throw-in goes to the opponent. You do not get a free ride just because it never went in. The ball is in play when it breaks the outside plane of the line, in the air or when it hits the ground.
 
Goalkeeper Handling & Playing
A keeper can come out of the penalty area, just not with the ball in his hands. Goalkeepers are also a player on the field. They can go anywhere on the field they want. Goalkeeper handling is only when the goalkeeper touches the ball after it is wholly over their own Penalty Area line. It is the ball, not the goalkeeper that determines handling. On punts, as long as a goalkeeper releases the ball before it is wholly over the line, they can exit the penalty area to kick the ball. Even if the ball may have been slightly over the line, and it looks like it may/may not still have been in the goalkeeper’s hands, it is considered trifling. Now, if the goalkeeper is completely over the penalty area line (like both feet) with the ball in their hands, that is deliberate handling, and is a DFK-Direct Free Kick for the opponent. The ball is placed wholly outside the Penalty Area line.
 
Goal Kicks and Free Kicks must leave the Penalty Area
Goal Kicks & any Free Kick (IDFK-Indirect or DFK-Direct Free Kick) awarded to the defending team in their Penalty Area. It  cannot be touched by any player, until the ball has wholly crossed the Penalty Area line for it to be in play. Teammates can remain in the Penalty Area, but cannot play it. Opponents must be out of the penalty area, and at least ten yards away from the ball. If the ball is touched by any player before wholly exiting the Penalty Area, the goal kick is retaken, even if it goes out over the goal line. If it goes in the goal, it is a corner kick.  (Revised LOTG 2016-2017)
 
Deliberate Pass-back to the Goalkeeper
The whole purpose of this law, passed in 1992, was to prevent time wasting. Players would repeatedly pass the ball to their keeper who would pick it up then throw it to their teammate who would then pass it back to the keeper again for it to be picked up. It has to be a Deliberate Pass-back for an offense to be called. A deflection off a teammate or a mis-kick that unintentionally goes to the keeper is not a violation of the pass-back law. If you clearly see a teammate pass it to their goalkeeper or stop the ball, then let their goalkeeper pick it up, then call it. Not sure, don't call it. If it is an offense, then the restart is an IDFK where the offense occurred. Except if it was in the goal area. The ball would then be moved out to the goal area line.
 
----------
 
12.9 DELIBERATE HANDLING
The offense known as "handling the ball" involves deliberate contact with the ball by a player's hand or arm (including fingertips, upper arm, or outer shoulder). "Deliberate contact" means that the player could have avoided the touch but chose not to, that the player's arms were not in a normal playing position at the time, or that the player deliberately continued an initially accidental contact for the purpose of gaining an unfair advantage. Moving hands or arms instinctively to protect the body when suddenly faced with a fast approaching ball does not constitute deliberate contact unless there is subsequent action to direct the ball once contact is made. Likewise, placing hands or arms to protect the body at a free kick or similar restart is not likely to produce an infringement unless there is subsequent action to direct or control the ball. The fact that a player may benefit from the ball contacting the hand does not transform the otherwise accidental event into an infringement. See attached US Soccer White Paper.
 
12.16 GOALKEEPER POSSESSION OF THE BALL
The goalkeeper is considered to be in possession of the ball when the ball is held with both hands, held by trapping the ball between one hand and any surface (e.g., the ground, a goalpost, the goalkeeper’s body), or holding the ball in the outstretched open palm. Once established, possession is maintained when the ball is held as described above, while bouncing the ball on the ground or throwing it into the air. Possession is given up if, after throwing the ball into the air, it is allowed to hit the ground. For purposes of determining goalkeeper possession, the “handling” includes contact with any part of the goalkeeper’s arm from the fingertips to the shoulder. While the ball is in the possession of the goalkeeper, it may not be challenged for or played by an opponent in any manner. An opponent who attempts to challenge for a ball in the possession of the goalkeeper may be considered to have committed a direct free kick foul. However, a ball controlled by the goalkeeper using means other than the hands is open to legal challenge by an opponent. The referee should consider the age and skill level of the players in evaluating goalkeeper possession and error on the side of safety.

National Partners

Our Sponsors

Contact Us

AYSO Region 143

16458 Bolsa Chica St PMB 568 
Huntington Beach, California 92649

Email Us: info@ayso143.org
Copyright © 2017 Region 143  |  Terms Of Use |  Privacy Statement Login
Blue Sombrero