Website Manager

American Youth Soccer Organization Providing world class youth soccer programs that enrich children's lives.

AYSO Region 143

Questions & Answers

• Feel free to send any questions to the Regional Referee Administrator at [email protected]
• NO long pre-game speeches to players, check player numbers, and do safety check.
(cleats, socks covering shin guards, shorts, shirt tucked in, no jewelry)
• NO yellow cards (cautions) in U10 or lower.
• NO red cards (send-offs) in U10 or lower.
• YELLOW card is extremely rare in U12 REC.
• RED card should be extremely rare in U12/U14 REC.
• Educate and communicate with the youth players.
• NO referee coaching, but in U12 & lower, you can briefly educate.
Q: How long are the games?
A: See Regional Guidelines. Running clock for each half no matter what. Restart clock for second half.
Q: What is a Center Referee?
A: There really is no such thing as a Center Referee. It is layman's term for the Referee who is on the field. In AYSO (based on FIFA Law), you are either a Referee (on the field), or an Assistant Referee (off the field, running half the touchline). There are two Assistant Referees, one on each side of the field, covering half the field. The Referee is positioned on the field and is in charge of the game and makes the decisions. The two Assistant Referees who run half of the touchline on each side of the field, indicate offside, out of bounds, goal kick, corner kick, fouls, etc. The Referee can then whistle the stoppage of play and make a call at his discretion. He can accept it and call it, or wave it down, based on what he saw or allows. The referee should have continual eye contact with his Assistant Referees.
Q: Can an Assistant Referee call fouls?
A: NO. The Assistant Referee can raise their flag to indicate a foul, misconduct, offside offense, and especially fouls in the Penalty Area that have been committed out of the Referee's view. The Referee will generally call it, but may consult with the Assistant Referee on the call before it is decided. If it was in the Penalty Area, it will/should surely be discussed. Before the game, the Referee should give a pre-game talk with the Assistant Referees, go over procedures, what they will allow, what to watch for, what they want and expect from their Assistant Referees, etc. A good referee team will have good eye contact, great communication and full control of the game.
Q: Which hand should the Assistant Referee use to raise the flag?
A: The Assistant Referee always keeps the flag in his left hand when facing the field, in view of the referee, or always on the side of the field depending on which way he is walking, jogging or running down the touchline. The right hand is used to raise the flag. Throw-in for attacker, Offside, Goal Kick, Corner Kick, and Foul by defender. Two Exceptions: The left hand is used for a Throw-in by a defender and a free kick by an attacker. The flags should always exchange hands, below the waist.
Q: What should the Referee do when a goal is scored?
A: Look to his Assistant Referee to confirm first (no flag up). Upon eye contact, his Lead Assistant Referee should be jogging up the touchline, flag down in his right hand, to confirm its a goal. The Referee should then point to the kickoff mark located at the center of the field where the restart will take place. No whistle is necessary. Only time a whistle is necessary for a goal is if the ball wholly enters the goal and comes back into play, or goes over goal line (not into goal) and back into play.
Q: What should an Assistant Referee do when a goal is scored?
A: When eye contact with the Referee is established, run/jog up the touchline with the flag in his right hand along his side.
Q: What is a Club Linesman?
A: Usually a parent, who is not certified, and is only allowed to indicate when the ball goes out of bounds by raising his flag straight up. He does not provide direction of throw or any other calls. A Club Linesman could also be a certified referee who is not in uniform. Only certified referees, in uniform, can perform the duties of an AR-Assistant Referee.
Q: What is a pre-game instruction?
A: Before a game, the Referee provides pre-game instructions to his Assistant Referees on how he wants the game controlled, what is expected. (ie; foul to indicate, offside more important than in and out of bounds, follow the ball to the goal line, indicating fouls in the Penalty Area, all for better communication, and a better game.
Q: What should a Referee do at player check-in?
A: 1) Check for proper equipment; shoes, shin guards, socks over shin guards, shorts, jerseys, 2) Check that all equipment is safe, no jewelry, wristbands or hard plastic/metal hair clips, earrings, etc are worn. 3) Check that jersey number and player match the line-up card. Notate "C-Team Captains" on the line-up card. The Referee SHOULD NOT do any coaching, or include any detailed advice. The typical is just to advise the players to 1) play the whistle (stop play if they hear your whistle), and 2) to have fun ! Just let them play! In older games, such as U14 and up, a few additional comments could & should be made, to avoid any conflict during the game, like; A) team captain duties, B) respect required distance on free kicks, C) all throw-ins to be taken within one yard where it exited, D) respect the goalkeeper. Keep it short & sweet, you are not the coach. You will have lost their attention after the first couple minutes. They just want to play!
Q: What are the names of the boxes on the field?
A: There are no boxes on a soccer field. There is the field (some call it a pitch), two Goal AREA's and two Penalty AREA's (some call it the 18), not boxes.
A: If a foul or misconduct occurs, but the Referee thinks the attacking team will actually benefit from continuing to play, the Referee will hold both his hands open above his head and extended out in front of himself, and say "Advantage", and allow play to continue for 2-3 seconds. If it plays out for the fouled player or his team, no foul is called (they retain possession). If it does not play out for the fouled player, the referee should call the original foul and award the free kick from where it occurred. Either way, if the foul was deserving of a YELLOW CARD, it can still be given before a restart, and at the next stoppage of play. An advantage after an advantage can also be called. If another foul occurs after an Advantage is called, the more serious of the two fouls should be called.
Q: Can a player play a ball on the ground?
A: YES. Just the mere fact that they are playing the ball on the ground is NOT an infraction, or dangerous play. If while playing the ball on the ground, they put themselves in danger and/or prevent an OPPONENT from making a play on the ball, then it is Dangerous Play. An Indirect Free Kick (IFK) for the opponent is awarded. Same call if a player puts themselves in harms way, when they are not on the ground, such as lowering your head/face to where an opponent is kicking the ball waist high, or putting yourself in danger when a player is going to head the ball.
Q: Can the goalkeeper leave the Penalty Area?
A: YES. The goalkeeper is a player on the field. If the goalkeeper is punting the ball after picking it up in the Penalty Area, it is in his hands, and the ball is slightly over the Penalty Area line when it is kicked, is considered trifling, and should NOT be called. It will not change the game. The Referee should verbally warn the goalkeeper to watch his line. If the ball is wholly over the PA-Penalty Area line, and the ball is still completely in possession of the goalkeeper, not being released, it would be a deliberate handling foul, and a DFK-Direct Free Kick would be awarded to the opponent just outside of the Penalty Area where the foul occured. It does not matter where the goalkeeper is. It only matters whether the ball has wholly crossed the line of the PA-Penalty Area and it is handled by the goalkeeper, for it to be a deliberate handling offense. Sometimes it is just too close to call, or trifling, so don't call it.
Q: If the goalkeeper has possession of the ball, drops it on the ground, and then picks it back up, is that an offense?
A: YES. This violates law 12, second touch by the goalkeeper. Once the goalkeeper has possession, then relinquishes control of the ball, they cannot handle the ball before someone else has touched it (In REC U10, especially when they accidentally drop it, you would want to allow it. Educate the keeper and allow him to pick it back up). It would be an IFK-Indirect Free Kick for the opponent from where the goalkeeper picked it up, unless it was in the goal area. If in the goal area, then the IFK would be taken from the goal area line closest to where it was touched. A goalkeeper is still in possession if they bounce the ball, or parry the ball, or toss it in the air. If the goalkeeper kicks the ball up in the air, and it goes straight up in the air, and they catch it, it is a second touch by the goalkeeper offense as well, IFK-Indirect Free Kick. If the goalkeeper deflects a slow ball they could have surely caught (parrying) and then picks it up, it is a second touch, IFK-Indirect Free Kick for the opponent.
Q: Can I change goalkeepers any time I want?
A: Just about. 1) any stoppage of play, 2) you must notify the Referee of the change, and 3) when the other team is NOT taking a quick restart. You should always inform the Referee (center) of any goalkeeper change, NOT the Assistant Referee. Notify the Referee even if the change is during a substitution. U14 and below, you can only change the goalkeeper with a player on the field, unless it is a substitution period. In U16 and above, you can substitute with any player, ON or OFF the field. Best to have a spare jersey and gloves to not waste time. Goalkeeper must exit the field before the new goalkeeper can enter the field.

Q: When is a player in an OFFSIDE POSITION?
A: 1) On his opponents half of the field, AND  2) nearer the opponents goal line than the ball, AND 3) closer to the opponents goal then the second to last opponent. Even though they are in an OFFSIDE POSITION, it is NOT an OFFSIDE OFFENSE.
Q: When is it an OFFSIDE OFFENSE?
A: It is an OFFSIDE OFFENSE when, a player is in an OFFSIDE POSITION, and when the ball is played or touched by a teammate, that player, 1) plays the ball, 2) interferes with an opponent, or 3) gains an advantage by being in that position.

Q: When is a player definitely NOT penalized for being OFFSIDE?
A: When an attacker receives the ball DIRECTLY on a GOAL KICK, CORNER KICK or THROW-IN. If the ball touches any onside teammate before going to the offside attacker, in any way, that attacker should be called OFFSIDE.
Q: Can you be OFFSIDE on a punt from your own goalkeeper?
A: YES. If you are in an OFFSIDE POSITION, when the ball is kicked/punted by your goalkeeper, and you 1) play the ball, or 2) interfere with an opponent or 3) gain an advantage by being in that position, it is an OFFSIDE OFFENSE.
Q: If a player is in an OFFSIDE POSITION, and runs ONSIDE to play a ball played from his ONSIDE teammate, is that an OFFSIDE OFFENSE?
A: YES. The player was in an OFFSIDE POSITION when the ball was played or touched by a teammate. It does not matter that he ran ONSIDE or to his own half of the field to play it.  It is an IFK-Indirect Free Kick for their opponent from where they touched or interfered.
Q: An attacker kicks the ball and it deflects off a defender, then onto an attacker in an OFFSIDE POSITION. Is that an OFFSIDE OFFENSE?
A: YES. OFFSIDE. If it is not "controlled and possessed" or deliberately played by the defender, and then played by the attacker in an OFFSIDE POSITION, or that player interferes with an opponent, it is an OFFSIDE OFFENSE. IFK-Indirect Free Kick for their opponent where they played or interfered.
Q: What should the Assistant Referee do when he sees an OFFSIDE OFFENSE?
A: If it is clearly an OFFSIDE OFFENSE, the AR should raise his flag straight up in the air, with his right hand, and stand where the OFFSIDE player played the ball or interfered with play. The flag should continue to remain straight up. When the Referee acknowledges the OFFSIDE and blows his whistle to stop play, the AR should point his flag towards the field at one of three angles, for where the OFFSIDE occurred. 1) angle upwards for far side of field, 2) straight out (like a goal kick) for middle of the field, 3) angle downwards for near side of the field.

If the Referee never acknowledges the AR, the AR should continue to hold the flag up until the ball is clearly in control of the defending team or is in the other half of the field. If a goal is scored, the Referee should always look at his AR for confirmation of the goal before awarding a goal, as he may see you with your flag up. The goal may be disallowed, and an IFK-Indirect Free Kick awarded to the opponent.

The Referee may discuss it with the AR. Note: The Referee could wave your OFFSIDE indication down. 1) The Referee disagrees with the indication and makes the final decision, 2) The Referee lets the goalkeeper have the advantage of picking up the ball for a punt or 3) the ball has clearly changed possession and direction towards the other half of the field.
Q: Where is the ball placed on an OFFSIDE OFFENSE?
A: The ball is placed where the OFFSIDE OFFENSE occurred, which is where the ball was played or where the player interfered with an opponent, even if they come back to their own side of the field to play the ball.
Q: If a throw-in never goes into play, is it always a retake?
A: NO. It is only a retake if the original throw-in was "performed properly" and it touched the ground before ever going into play. Proper procedure is, the player 1) faces the field of play, 2) part of each foot on or behind the line, 3) holds the ball with both hands, 4) delivers the ball from behind and over his head, 5) delivers the ball from the point where it left the field of play (within 1 yard). The ball is in play when it enters the field of play. If the throw-in was performed improperly, whether it went in play or not, the opponent would get the throw-in. You only get the retake if all 5 requirements of the throw-in were performed properly, and it never went into play. In U8, the Referee can & should allow a second chance for a player after a brief instruction. They are learning. Let them play!
Q: Can a player take a free kick immediately?
A: YES, as long as 1) the player taking the kick did not request 10 yards, or 2) The Referee did not tell the kicker to wait for the whistle, to give a caution or attend to an injured player. If the kicker asks for ten yards, then the Referee needs to tell the kicker to wait for the whistle. The kicker must wait for the whistle before restarting play. This is called a ceremonial restart. If an opponent encroaches the 10 yard distance, the kick must be retaken, and the player who encroached should be cautioned with a YELLOW card for failing to respect the required distance.
Q: Can a goal be scored directly from a KICK-OFF or GOAL-KICK?
A: YES, but only against your opponent. No need for the ball to be touched by another player before a score can be accomplished. Note: On a kick-off, there is also no restriction on the number of attackers in the center circle, but they do need to be on their own half of the field. Referee blows the whistle to let attackers know they can start, and after the ball is kicked, in any direction, it is in play. No opponents can enter the center circle until the ball is kicked and moves.
Q: Can a goal be scored directly from a DROPPED BALL?
A: NO. The ball is dropped, and when it touches the ground, it is in play, but must be touched by two players before a goal can be scored.
Q: Can a goal be scored from a THROW-IN?
A: NO. If an attacker throws it directly into his opponents goal, it is a goal kick. If a defender throws it directly into his own goal, it is a corner kick. NOTE THESE SCENARIOS: 1) If an attacker performs a throw-in towards his opponents goal and it is touched by anyone before the ball crosses the goal line, IT IS A GOAL. 2) If a player performs a throw-in towards his own goal, and his goalkeeper touches it in any way, and the ball crosses the goal line, IT IS A GOAL. (If the goalkeeper touched it with his hands, it is a deliberate passback offense, and it would be a foul awarded with an IFK-Indirect Free Kick, but you would apply ADVANTAGE, and award the goal.)
Q: Can a player call, yell, or scream at an opponent in any way, or call for an opponent to pass him the ball?
A: NO they may not. The player could be cautioned with a YELLOW CARD for USB-Unsporting Behavior, and an IFK-Indirect Free Kick is awarded to the opponent from where the cautioned player was when he yelled or deceived the opponent. One verbal warning is suggested. Note: U10 & below, we do not card, just educate and award the kick.

National Partners

Contact Us

AYSO Region 143

5312 Sisson Dr 
Huntington Beach, California 92649

Email Us: [email protected]
Copyright © 2024 Region 143  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Login